Memorandum of Understanding between the Ceylon Chamber Of Commerce (CCC) And the Sri Lanka Retailer’s Association (SLRA)

CAPTION FOR PHOTO (from Left to Right) : Mr. Dinesh Perera – Deputy Director, ABANS PLC, Mr. Sidath Kodikara – CEO Cargills Foods Company, Mr. Leonard Perera, Retailers- Connect of SLRA, Mr. A.H.M. Haroos – Consultant Hameedia, ,Mr. Hussain Sadique – Deputy MD of Hameedia/ SLRA Chairman, Ms. Dhara Wijayatilake – CEO of the Ceylon Chamber of Commerce, Ms. Alikie Perera – Deputy Secretary General and Ms. Gillian Nugara – Asst. Secretary General of CCC and Mr. Ajith Amarasekera – CEO of Swarnamahal Jewellers.

The Sri Lanka Retailer’s Association (SLRA) entered into a MOU with Ceylon Chamber Of Commerce (CCC) on the 29th of September 2016, to provide the Association’s secretarial services, other required services, support, co-operation and assistance to achieve the Association’s objectives and goals. The MOU was signed by Ms. Dhara Wijayatilake, CEO of the Ceylon Chamber of Commerce and Mr. Hussain Sadique, Chairman of the Sri Lanka Retailer’s Association.

The idea of SLRA was mooted in the year 2015, which was later incorporated in June 2016 as a Company Limited by Guarantee. The objective of this Association will be to harness the resources of the Organized Retail industry to a common platform to promote and facilitate the futuristic Innovation, Growth and Global outreach. SLRA has an ambitious Vision to “Achieve Retail Excellence” in Sri Lanka. To achieve this vision, it strives to be the ‘Voice of the Retail industry in Sri Lanka’.

Founder stakeholder members of the  Association currently includes prominent retailers such as Abans, Bata Shoe Company, Cargills Foods Company, Cool Planet, Cotton Collection, Ceylon Leather products DI, DSI, Damro, Healthguard Pharmacy Ltd., Fashion Bug, Kandy selection, Keells Super, Laugfs Supermarkets,, No Limit, Singer Sri Lanka, Swarnamahal Jewellers, Softlogic Retail, Thilakawardhana Textiles and Hameedia as the Lead Convener.

SLRA currently represents 9 Retail sectors which are: FMCG, Clothing, Fashion & Jewelry, Shelter & Housing Household & Consumer Durables, Footwear & Accessories, E-Commerce, Mobility, Entertainment and Healthcare & Wellness.  “The SLRA hopes to engage with Retailers in multiple formats to further increase and scale its membership. Our aim is to improve the standards of Retailing in the country by being inclusive in our approach” said the Chairman of the Association, Mr. Hussain Sadique.  He further said “We expect to give leadership and the much-needed focus, thus the ultimate vision of the country, to make Sri Lanka a retail hub will be realized”.  The Executive Committee of SLRA comprising of Mr. Sidath Kodikara, Mr. Murali Prakash, Mr. Infiyaz Ali, Mr. Charitha Subasinghe, Mr. Dinesh Perera and Mr. Ajith Amarasekera were also present for the MOU signing ceremony. Mr. Leonard Michael Perera, Retailers-Connect of SLRA and Ms. Alikie Perera, Deputy Secretary General of CCC witnessed the signing of the MOU.

The Ceylon Chamber of Commerce will play the role of the Secretariat and immediate contact point for the SLRA.

The Retail industry is invited to enroll as members of the Association. For more information, please contact: Sri Lanka Retailers’ Association Secretariat: Ms. Gillian Nugara, Asst. Secretary General of  Ceylon Chamber of Commerce, No. 50, Nawam Mawatha Colombo 02. Tel No: 011 5588881.